Wings bags of cash L

Wings bags of cash R

Vera Blue in the mix for APRA Awards


Singer Vera Blue pose for a picture during the official announcement of the nominated artists for the 2017 Aria Awards in Sydney, Tuesday, October 10, 2017. (AAP Image/Daniel Munoz)

Australia's best melody makers and lyricists will gather in Sydney on Tuesday night for the annual APRA Awards, recognising the best songwriters over the past year.

Gold Coast musician Amy Shark, Paul Kelly and Sydney's Gang of Youths are all vying for Song of the Year while Midnight Oil will be recognised for their outstanding services to Australian music with the Ted Albert Award.

Singer-songwriter Vera Blue, real name Celia Pavey, is in the running for the Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year award, after the release of her debut album late last year.

"I've never been to the awards because I have never been nominated so this is really special," Pavey told AAP.

The Sydney-based star will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of last year's winner global superstar Troye Sivan.

But it's also a great excuse for to be in the same room as fellow songwriters and heroes of the music scene, such as Midnight Oil.

"It doesn't matter if I win or lose because I'm up against people I really love and people who write songs I really love," Pavey said.

"It's just a really nice opportunity to recognise writers and a good excuse for us to get together."

This year's most nominated artists are songwriters and producers M-Phazes (real name Mark Landon) and PJ Harding with four nominations each.

Tim Minchin, All Our Exes Live in Texas, Suze DeMarchi and Baby Animals, Adalita and Isabella Manfredi will perform at the awards.

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year nominees:

Alex Lahey

Ben Abraham

Celia Pavey, AKA Vera Blue

Gretta Ray

Sarah Aarons

© AAP 2018